My tenancy agreement clearly says that I'm not allowed to sublet. Safe to get flatmates anyway?

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by tourniquet 12 yrs ago
It says this:

"The Tenant shall not assign, transfer, sublet or part with the possession of the Premises or any part thereof to any other person. This tenancy shall be personal to the Tenant named herein."

Okay, well, my wife moved out and I'm stuck with a 3 bedroom flat to myself. I'm helping her pay for her flat, so a bit of extra cash from flatmates would be helpful.

Question: how strictly enforced are such clauses in tenancy agreements? Can I get in trouble if I get flatmates?

Thanks in advance.

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
Ed 12 yrs ago
Shouldn't be a problem... subletting is not the same as sharing... subletting as I understand it, involves re-leasing your property to another party and not living in it

tourniquet 12 yrs ago
Cool! Thanks, Ed!

Underdawg 12 yrs ago
I'm not a lawyer but I think as long as you don't have a new contract with anyone you are sharing with then it should be OK.

associates 12 yrs ago
First, you say that your wife moved out and that you are helping her pay for the flat. Is the tenancy agreement in your name and do you wish to remain in the premises?

One would need to review the lease in detail, as it is possible there may be a break clause which would allow you to terminate the lease before its expiration by serving notice on the landlord. You could also discuss with your Landlord to ask for his agreement to surrender the lease. However, if there is no break clause and your Landlord does not agree to your surrender, if you default on the lease covenants, the landlord may apply to the court for damages for your breach of tenancy agreement.