Sell your property NOW

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by punter 13 yrs ago
No one's buying though...

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
Milty 13 yrs ago
I beg to differ. I just signed with a developer to buy my apartment in Sheung Wan. I signed for twice the amount that I paid for it 15 months ago.

And I have another apartment in negotiations to sell to a developer....for 6 times what I bought it for in 2003.

And before anyone jumps down my throat, I am 29 and did not get any money from my parents. This is all my cash and I have been working for 6 years and yes, it's not properties worth HKD 10M + but i have been smart in the types of apartments I have bought.....

oh and I only moved to HK in 2008 and I work full time too !

Milty 13 yrs ago
sorry, I mean I have been working for 9 years !!!!

punter 13 yrs ago
Would it have been better if the OP said, "If you have investment properties, sell now"?

That would be sensible, right? But every investor have a different strategy....and results.

bdw 13 yrs ago
I have a H+0.7% mortgage and there is no chance I am giving this up. I live in my own place. I pay $23k per month mortgage, of which $19k is principal reduction and only $4k is interest. If I were to rent it, I would be paying $25k rent.

There is no way I am paying $25k rent vs $4k in interest.

You go ahead and sell your property. Im keeping mine. I bought it for $6.3m in 2008 and Im already getting offers of $8.5m earlier this year. If it drops 20%-30%, Im still laughing because I pay only $4k interest vs the suckers paying $25k rent.

punter 13 yrs ago
bdw, what if the effective rate goes to 8% ? When rates go up, rents go up so you may still be ahead.

The problem of course is when homeowners' income do not go up as much as the rates do. Worst case scenario: rates go up, salaries goes down (or goes up but not in step), and homeowners have problem paying the mortgage.