Avoid special stamp duty by setting up company

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by Withalliam 11 yrs ago
Has anyone know if non-HK citizen can avoid the special stamp duty tax by setting up a company to purchase the company?

Has anyone done that and have any tips to share?

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
OffThePeak 11 yrs ago
I believe the answer is No - since the company would have to pay the tax.

The remaining "loophole" is that those with HK ID's can buy one property for own use, and not pay an "increased" tax.

I expect that children will be buying with "help" from their parents, rather than the parents buying in their own names a second or third property.

I am not a lawyer, but I think this may be a nice, simple, legal way to avoid paying the doubled tax.

Anyway, the government's repeated tax increases seems to have done its job, and sentiment has changed, and potential buyers are now standing aside and letting the market slide somewhat.

Let's see how far they let it drift lower, before HK buyers start stepping back in.

traineeinvestor 11 yrs ago
If the property is already owned by a company before the SSD etc went into effect does buying the company (instead of the property) trigger SSD? I'm not sure.

I'm sure there are people looking at putting properties in the names of children and other relatives and I can just see some of the future disputes arising some years into the future. Personally, I don't think it's worth doing until the market has reached a level where it represents good value.

OffThePeak 11 yrs ago
TI,

If you buy a company owning a flat, do you really know what the total liabilities are?

My own view is that secondhand properties (under $10 million) in promising areas, might drop by 5-10% before we see another rally, which could take prices back up to the old highs and maybe higher.

I expect prices for New flats, and in oversupplied areas to drop more than that.

Withalliam 11 yrs ago