Loan sharks - where to find them?

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by Zhang Huike 12 yrs ago
Hi,

I was wondering how I could find any of those notorious Hong Kong loan sharks. I urgently need HK$5000 for living expenses and I have no choice but to take a loan.

What interest can I expect if I want a loan for a month? What do they usually ask a security? Also, I'm a HK resident but not a permanent one - do I stand any chance to get a loan?

Thanks.

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
Zhang Huike 12 yrs ago
Yes I am, what's your problem.

Zhang Huike 12 yrs ago
I borrowed over $20k already =)

What I found is that there are some "finance companies" on Central, they don't disclose the rate on their websites but they seem to be legal and don't ask for income proof.

I'll try to drop by and ask them.

Amparo Kia 12 yrs ago
Zhang, loan shark in HK are run by triad gangs, you really have to think twice before you borrow money from them, these are not people you can mess up with. 5K for living allowance is not much in HK, and can only last you for a short while (not even a month), then what??

Miriam_Walker 12 yrs ago
Amparo is so right. If you go to a loan shark and can't pay back, you'll be harassed, threatened, maybe even friends and family. Do go there... really! 5K is nothing and SO not worth stooping as low as going to a loan shark mate.

Brooklynexpat 12 yrs ago