Working in Norway, living in Hong Kong

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by bardur 14 yrs ago
Hi there,

I want to ask if anyone has any experience in this kind of stuff.?!

(1).

I have Danish nationality, but I'm born and have my address in the Faroe Islands (Part of denmark).

I work in the offshore Oil business in Norway, so I'm on the job for 4 weeks, and off for 4 weeks and so on.

And my salary is paid to my Faroese account, but I pay taxes to norway, wich pays it back to the company. (Net. taxed agreement in scandinavian offshore)

Does anyone know if I have to pay additional taxes in HK, if I moved my address to HK ?

(2).

My wife lives in HK, and is here on a Work VISA. I also live in HK, but I'm on a visitor VISA, because I don't need to work in HK, but just live here. So I just stay 4 weeks at the time, so it's no problem for me. But I can't buy/rent/stand for, anything, as I don't have a ID card, or proof of income. in HK..

Does anyone know what I should do to get a ID card? and be able to move to HK "legally"..?

Thanks

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
axptguy38 14 yrs ago
"Does anyone know if I have to pay additional taxes in HK, if I moved my address to HK ? "

I'm not an expert, but typically you pay taxes in the country where you are resident. Resident is typically defined as spending more than 6 months of the year there. (The US is a big exception to this rule.) So it really depends on the number of days you spend in each country.

"Does anyone know what I should do to get a ID card? and be able to move to HK "legally"..? "

I'm going to guess that your wife can take you as a dependant, or you can be employed in HK. Call Immigration to be sure.

Ausman 14 yrs ago
Tax no, ID an issue.

You can rent, open bank account etc..... however, purchase a house, car, you would need to do this in your wifes name.

bardur 14 yrs ago
thanks for the answers.