RIGHT OF ABODE HELP URGENT TY!!!

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by Diehardhongkonger 10 yrs ago
Hello, I am a student currently doing the IB programme, for one of the pieces of coursework we have to do, we have to carry out a debate on Hong Kong's Right of Abode.

Our house is on the against side, we believe that that filipinos should not be given Right of Abode in Hong Kong.

The other House believes that filipinos should be given right of abode in Hong Kong.

Note that Right of Abode is not about Hong Kong Residency, or so says my teacher. We are using the example of filipinos because it is a example that has already happened IRL.

If there is anyone out there who is willing to provide information or give their opinion on this topic, it would greatly appreciated.

My research so far has only included article 24 of the basic law and some basic reading of case studies. I'm not a law person, so it would be of great help too if anyone could clarify on any articles related to the Right of Abode in Hong Kong.

Note to any filipinos reading this, please do not be offended, in fact, give your opinion on why you should be given right of abode, it will also be very useful to us.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
punter 10 yrs ago
I think the premise of the debate is flawed. Change "Filipino" to to any other nationality (e.g. Indian, Nepali, Indonesian, etc.) and it will still look racist (because one nationality is picked on).

Maybe you're talking about maids and not nationalities?

Lucane01 10 yrs ago
Against: FDH contracts specifically state that they cannot obtain permanent residency / right of abode from work as a FDH. They cannot retroactively change their contracts after the terms have long since been agreed to.