Urgent - Advice about changing name in Hong Kong

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by willy11 13 yrs ago
Hello, I want to change my name in Hong Kong. I am a permanent resident and due to family and personal reasons that I find quite serious, I would like to change my name without my family members finding out.

I looked around the internet and found that it required a deed poll.

I'm asking if that deed poll can be obtained without a lawyer and if someone could tell me the procedures of petitioning the court and the entire process.

Also, I want to ask what kind of other documents you require for this, if such the change of name occurs in your birth certificate too as in the canadian, american name changes and the amount of money required ( I have heard from a range of 500-8000).

I would like to do this discreetly and not because of legal issues.

Hopefully, I'd like to do this without a solicitator because I don't want people around me to know.

BUT if that is not possible, could someone recommend me to a good law firm that speaks english and that does not charge extravagant fees.

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
cookie09 13 yrs ago
i dont have the answer to many of your questions, but i dont think you can change your birth certificate.

my suggestion: why not go to immigration/government in wan chai and ask them directly? might take some time for such a complex matter but surely you get the best advice

fernih24 13 yrs ago
Dear willy,

there is a procedure that you must go through including the drafting and registering of a Deed Poll. The Deed Poll must be signed by a Hong Kong Solicitor. (I am assuming you are at least 18 years old and therefore do not need to have parents present in order to change your name). I understand that you would not like to use a Hong Kong solicitor but it is required by immigration. We can help you with this.