Teaching Violin in HKG

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by Sibelius 17 yrs ago
I will be moving to HKG next month, and looking to teach the violin. I would love to teach (private lessons) in a school setting as I have done in the past. Does anyone know if this is commonplace? Do elementary schools have string programs and tutors? And what is the demand? Thanks for any wisdom!

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
Katetam 17 yrs ago
I would be interested. I am a piano teacher from Canada. recently want to start violin lessons..... where are you from?

Do you teach 4 year olds? I am also interested for my daughter.

Lots of demand here for violin, and for music learning centers, you would have LOTS of demand depending on your qualifications and experience.

Primary schools- you would need an education degree to teach there, unless you go to International schools, they might consider you. Pay wouldn't be as good by the hour as it would be if you taught privately.

Ed 17 yrs ago
You might want to consider posting an ad here:

http://hongkong.asiaxpat.com/atoz.asp

Sibelius 17 yrs ago
Thanks all, for your advice. I had typed out a response a few days ago that somehow wasn't posted up here ??? Not sure what I did or where it went! But thanks Katetam for your interest, I have taught dexterous 4yr olds before .. I would be careful to take things slowly and enjoy the fun side of music with a goal to develop a love for music and skills in musicality with that age group - the playing position of the violin can be demanding at first and motor skills are in overdrive! But I'd love to meet you both, that would be fun. I am from Australia ... but spent 5 yrs in Vancouver (2000 - 2005) and I do love your fine country. Do you teach? And if so, where? Do you really need an education degree to teach privately at a school? I understand the need for classroom teachers ....