Best areas to live for 22yo single male

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by sshuldiner 11 yrs ago
Hi,

I am an American student who will be moving to HK in two weeks and will be living there for a year on a Fulbright scholarship. My question is: where would be best for a single, male expat to live in the city? I am looking at a nice place in Causeway Bay but am concerned it won't be the best location for someone like me. I am looking for an area that is busy, fun and has a decent amount of expats living there, close to nightlife, etc. I will also be commuting to NT some days a week for work, if that influences advice.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
Lucane01 11 yrs ago
Causeway Bay is for shopping - besides, anything in that part of town will be either A) ungodly expensive or B) ungodly ugly and tiny. Where are you working in NT? Convenience for travel (MTR) should be a consideration.

What is your budget like?

sshuldiner 11 yrs ago
The apartment I'm looking at is acrtually really nice (modern, clean, 400 sq feet); he ussually rents it out for 20,000HKD+ a month but is giving me a good deal because I am staying longer and also he is being pretty nice (16,000HKD/mo). My budget for apartment is ~15-16,000 HKD, but preferably 15k...

I'll be working at CUHK (Shatin)

sshuldiner 11 yrs ago
Already had a friend (HK local) check it out for me too, and he confirms it is nice and great value. Just dunno if that's the area I want to be in...

Lucane01 11 yrs ago
15k is a lot for only 400sqft - but then again it is Causeway Bay (but also why live there? to shop at Sogo everyday?).