domestic helper wife change to dependant visa

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by r00my 15 yrs ago
hi all,

im a hong kong permanent resident, i just got married to my domestic helper GF last june 2, 2009 here in hong kong, before that i asked her to make a month notice of resignation and gave to her employer 3 days before our wedding day then a day after our wedding we went to immigration to submit the documents needed for dependant visa application, then the officer on the dependant visa section told us to go to extension section then submit those documents there, after waiting for our turn they gave us a card stating the application reference number, and telling us to wait for them to notify us by letter.

now my question is how long should we wait for that letter? is our dependant visa application already on the process.

Please anyone can advise on what to do, i gladly appreciate any reply. thanks in advance and more power

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
punter 15 yrs ago
It's definitely being processed now. There's no need to worry.

What I think is that the immigration department is currently making sure your marriage is not a sham. When everything turns out ok, you will be called in.

r00my 15 yrs ago
thank you both for the reply, im getting my hopes up now :D

associates 15 yrs ago
Normally it takes 6 – 8 weeks to process a visa entry/permit application for residence as a dependant upon receipt of all required documents.

Weir & Associates

Solicitors & Notaries

16th Floor Tak Shing House

Theatre Lane

20 Des Voeux Road Central

Central

Hong Kong

Tel 2526-1767

Fax : 2868-3568

email : weirlaw@hongkonglaw.com

www.HongKongLaw.com/weirlaw

r00my 15 yrs ago