Air Purifier recommendation for HK weather ??

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by exchangestudent 9 yrs ago
I am an exchange student from the states and just arrived here couple of days ago . I am a bit concerned about the air quality here since I have asthma and ever since I arrived I have been having severe wheezing and Asthma fits . I was told by my friends back home that in China there is air pollution and people use masks . I don't think the pollution is that high in Hong Kong but just to be on the safer side I'm planning to use air purifiers . Can somebody recommend a good air purifier ?

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
Mazai 9 yrs ago
Moved to HK from SG recently. I am looking for effective, small and quiet air purifier for my tiny bedroom as well. I saw many brands of air purifier displayed in the chain electronic stores. Any suggestion?

sbruce 9 yrs ago
Hi Exchange Student & Mazai,

I'm Steve from Renaud Air (www.renaudair.hk). Congratulations on taking charge of your health!

The air pollution problem is nowhere near as bad here in Hong Kong as it is in China, but it is still very bad. to illustrate this, even on a clear day like today, the air pollution levels are 150,000 0.3 microns per litre of air (we have instruments that measure this). The WHO minimum safe standard is 60,000.

Basically, regardless of where you live in Hong Kong, you need an air purifier.

Having an air purifier in your home will help a lot with any breathing problems you might have and will also help you sleep better.

Basically, you get what you pay for when it comes to air purifiers. our price range is HKD4-11,000 per unit and you will need to replace the filter every 6 months which will cost you around HKD500. I'm sure you will agree that this is cheaper than your doctors bills and this is a small price to pay for your health!