American accent coach?

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by EnidColeslaw 13 yrs ago
Hi everyone,

I am new to these forums so please be nice :)

I will be moving with my husband from the United States to Hong Kong. I am a speech therapist certified in accent reduction. In the United States I work with corporate clients from all over the world. The reason for my post is that I am wondering what my job prospects will be like in Hong Kong. When visiting I noticed that most people seem to speak with a British accent and I am wondering if that is the "preferred" accent out there. I teach the "standard American" accent.

Thank you for any input!

Enid

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
axptguy38 13 yrs ago
I wouldn't say there is a "preferred accent" to English here. Granted, Americans are one of the largest expat groups, but you'll also find large numbers of Aussies, Kiwis and of course Brits. You'll also find plenty of South Africans and Canadians. It's a mix really.

Locals with very good English are likely to have an American, Canadian or British accent. North American accents are due to the large number of HK Chinese who have family there or grew up there. British obviously from the colonial era.

Most locals who speak English have a "HK accent" if you will. Less grammar, more "la" and "ay-yaa" mixed in. Not as distinctive as Singapore English but still very definitely "local".

Normally English spelling here is British (colour, not color) though that doesn't affect pronunciation.

It seems to me you didn't find a representative mix when visiting.

So in summary, I guess you'll find all sorts but certainly lots of Americans. I recommend contacting Hong Kong International School (the biggest American School), the American Club and the American Women's Association.