Piano Teacher from Canada, seeking advice

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by Katetam 19 yrs ago
Hi all,

I am a piano teacher of over 15 years. As an active registered music teacher and executive of many associations in Canada, after moving to HK 3 years ago, I have not been able to recruit students like I did in Canada.

Being used to the system in North America, it has been very difficult to get used to Hk's style of education and referral system. There are no referral service here. I do not want to sent out flyers in mailboxes.

If there are other piano or music teachers who went through this difficult period and found solution, please advise. I do love teaching and do like living in HK.

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
Katetam 19 yrs ago
please email me at pianokc2005@yahoo.com

Thank you for your interest.

Katetam 19 yrs ago
I do not use Suzuki method further than book 1. I find students hooked on Suzuki method for a long time do not know how to sight read very well. B/c this method is very dependent and based on "ear" training, and playing by ear. Although I agree that at the beginning lessons, it's very rewarding to the student.

I can't say I use the traditional method as well. My approach is a multi-facet one, but I do teach from the middle C, if that counts as "traditional method".

A little about my teaching method: It's not the content that is important, it's the "way" the teacher communicates to the child/student that determines the direction, and development of his interest in short run and long term.

My philosophy and basis of my training comes from my background as I majored in Child Psychology and counselling. I have three performance diplomas from Royal Conservatory of Toronto, as well as DipABRSm and LRSM both distinction standing in piano performance. I have been teaching for over 15 years. My students receive distinction standing in exams, and are often prize winners of competitions and festivals.