Perspectives welcome

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by ARJD 7 yrs ago
Hi,

So I find myself a bit confused as I am new to this whole live-in helper situation. There are a few issues that have come up and I would like to know if:

(A) are these usual "first month" issues
(B) a sign that things will get worse

the issues are:

- taking my kids out without letting us know and also not having credit on the phone to call/text us

- had not been cleaning/ventilating her own room and has mould growing around the windows and cieling (only room in our apt to have mould on the windows etc)

- going on a personal shopping trip during a grocery trip and taking almost 2 hours to do this without letting me know
- not following instructions/agreeing to them without fully understanding Eg. - do not feed this food to the baby, it's too spicy - then she does anyway.

- asking her to avoid cold drinks when the baby is sick - she gives them to her anyway and says "the drink is not cold, it's just the cup that is cold."

I don't want to jump to conclusions and try to see the best in her but what are your thoughts/perspectives?

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
lilgraycat 7 yrs ago
I would start looking for a new helper, it looks like you've hired someone who is lazy and not interested in doing a good job, and it is too risky to have someone like that taking care of young kids. Some HK parents would have fired her on the spot for disappearing with the kids without notice. If you really want to give her a chance perhaps you can give her written offenses to let her know that you're serious, and tell her that she'll be fired after X number of offenses.

ABSN 7 yrs ago
Hi ARJD,