Domestic stealing money

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by axptguy38 13 yrs ago
Two words: FIRE HER!

She is taking advantage of you in a big way. It doesn't matter how many good qualities she has. She is dishonest and a thief. If she has money troubles it is not your responsibility to fix them.

There are plenty of honest, cheerful and hardworking candidates out there looking for a job. Start fresh.

"Im not very good at dealing with servants as I have never done it before."

Treat your helper as you would any other employee. Be clear in your requirements. Be clear in your communication. Be clear in your feedback. Do not make the mistake of thinking she is really your friend. There can be "pseudo-friendship" but a good boss keeps a measure of distance towards subordinates. There is a book out there called "Hiring and Managing Domestic Help" that discusses the subject at length.

"I didn't get her through an agency which believe is the best thing to do as they handle any problems."

I don't see how an agency could have fixed this apart from doing the termination paperwork. As the employer, management is your responsibility.

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
cookie09 13 yrs ago
don't judge from her to any other philipppino. like axptguy said, there are many other philippino helpers who are great.

i would also not worry about the gardening, etc. there are many others who have been farmers back home.

seriously, fire her right away, get yourself a part time while searching for a new one.

axptguy38 13 yrs ago
Be honest and firm when you fire. If you don't want to be alone, get a friend to "sit in". Worst case, call the police.

As cookie09 says, don't judge Filipinas from this one. I know many lovely helpers who work very hard, including ours. On the other hand there are some awful ones. Sri Lankan, Filipina, Indonesian, really makes little difference on that score.