Filipino kid born in HK to DH MOM-Right of abode

Search  
ORIGINAL POST
Posted by richard_11 8 yrs ago
Hi,
This situation of mine may sound complicated but still I'll try to go into detail and expound on every issues.

First, I am 29 years old born in Hong Kong. My Mother is a Filipina domestic helper who worked in Hong Kong for 33 years as Domestic helper. My Dad as well is a Filipino domestic helper but currently he is residing now in the Philippines and retired working as a Domestic helper in Hong Kong.

I studied in Hong Kong until kindergarten at Happy Valley ( Foundation School). I'm not pretty sure if this school is still open or if I mentioned the name of the school right, since that was in ages and I'm still a kid back then.

What brings this Issue to complicated is that my visa back then when I was born is associated to my mothers visa. Which means that, her being a domestic helper would have a visa as a domestic helper visa. So everytime my mother renew her working visa I would also renew my visa.

After 6 years old my parents send me back to Philippines due to financial constraints, time management issues, and family marriage issues. So I studied in the Philippines up until I got my University Degree and Masters Degree.

Back then, when I was 7 years old. I visited Hong Kong every year to renew my visa every summer. Up until the age of 15 years old. I was issued a Hong Kong Identity card when I was 11 years old which states on the back of the card that I should renew my visa when I reached 16 years old to get my permanent residency in Hong Kong but unfortunately I wasn't able to go back to Hong Kong when I was 16 because I was starting my Accounting Degree in the University which makes my schedules tight.

After Graduation I went back to Hong Kong, I was 20 years old back then. Me and my mother visited the immigration department to apply for Right of Abode status, which I would be the primary applicant to apply for ROA not my mother.