HK Local Plus vs UK salaries

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by B_K 16 yrs ago
Hi,

I am at the final stages of discussions with my employer about a transfer to Hong Kong. They have made it clear that it will be a local plus, not expat package. Informal queries reveal that to mean a salary higher than local people, with housing allowance but no other large benefits.

Before I enter the final discussions, I would like to have a better understanding of what package I can assume.

The position is department manager in a large MNC. It is a small but high profile department, about 5 people, with Greater China responsibility. Such a position would pay around £50-55k in UK (750-850k HK$).

This transfer is initiated by myself - I have been asking for such a transfer for a couple years. It is not the company telling me to go there.

I have previously worked in Singapore and got the impression that Local Plus packages was very much a hit or miss - luck of the draw seemed to determine your package, the spread in salaries for similar position was huge compared to Europe.

There is a very strong shortage of skills in this line of work in both Shanghai and Hong Kong. I am told that my employer is considering some kind of lock-in to ensure that I don't jump to another company within 2 years. Could be a sign-on bonus that is repayable if I leave within that period.

I am Western European, male, mid 30s.

1. Should I expect more, less, or about the same in this position that I would make in UK? (Considering: local plus, the transfer is requested by myself, 2-year lock-in)

2. I could possible request to be located in Shanghai instead, but my wife is not keen on moving there. Should I expect same or lower salary if I decide to go there instead?

Any advice is most appreciated.

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
axptguy38 16 yrs ago
"1. Should I expect more, less, or about the same in this position that I would make in UK?"