Music lessons from when? - Survey

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by hkchoichoi 18 yrs ago
I'm curious to know (from experience or any music teachers out there) at what age did people start their kids with music lessons. I started quite "late" I was told (at age 6) and was curious to know what our current parenting attitudes are towards music lessons.

1. What age did your child start?

2. What instrument does he/she play?

3. Why did you decide to start lessons? Interest from the child? Heard that it increases ability in Math? (particularly for those who play piano) You played as a dchild?

4. How many lessons a week for this instrument?

5. How many minutes a day for practice?

6. Does your child practice easily? How do you encourage practice?

7. If they are still playing, how long have they played for total?

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
Katetam 18 yrs ago
Hi HKchoichoi,

Surprised no one replied yet.

I am a Canadian educated Piano Teacher of 17 years. I have two kids, but eldest is just 3 years old. She's starting to show interest at my piano... so will be starting her 15 minutes a week for the lesson at the piano.

TO answer your questions (based on my students)

1) The age children starts- USED to be 5 years old to 6 years old (in our generation), but now, about 3 and a half to 4 years old seems to be the starting age for formal piano lessons. (Depending on the child's personality and attitude)

2) What instrument- my little ones play piano and violin, and flute. (Piano is the first instrument) Violin around age 6, and flute around age 8.

3) Many years of research does show a child who plays musical instrument (any kind) helps develop their logical thinking, increases Math marks at school, and better cooridination.

This is also evident in my theory students. After taking theory, their math marks, and study habits significantly improves.