Korean Dishes?

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by ny1 18 yrs ago
I am an HK newbie. Could anyone let me know if there are any places to buy genuine Korean groceries, any good Korean restaurants, etc.? Could you also give me an idea about the costs of Korean foods? I am considering moving to HK for the indefinite future from NYC, but I am Korean and cannot live without Korean food.

Any help would be SO appreciated.

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
christine.capria 18 yrs ago
there are tons of korean resturant. If you are interested write me a message I can take you around...

Claire 18 yrs ago
When the Korean protestors staged a sit in at the WTO late last year, they did not go hungry. The HK Korean community took them lunchboxes of Korean food bought in HK. You should be well catered for here.

Citysuper has several Korean products, including barrels of fresh kimchee. Check out one of their supermarkets on your re-con trip here.

Here's the website of Arirang which opened back in 1964.

http://www.arirang.com.hk/restau.php

A couple of places to hook up with for networking are the Korean Chamber of Commerce and The Korean HK Residents Assoc.

http://www.kochamhk.org/korean/main.php

http://www.koreanhk.com/

Also check with your alma mater because there are a number of alumni associations here.

hkchoichoi 18 yrs ago
Korean food is a bit more pricey than it would be in the US, but I didn't find it too bad.

There is a Korean supermarket where you can order and they will deliver most supplies that you need. (don't have the number handy, but if you want, I'll get it for you.)

A TON of Korean restaurants here where you can get your fix.

Both city super and great sell soy sauce (I used Kikoman), and 100% pure sesame oil (used a Japanese brand) and Chongak Jjip kimchee in the bag. (very good.) Tofu of course is easy to find.

City super sells gotchoojahng, deunjang and some varieties of dried seasoned laver (kkim) for your basic needs.