Terminated without Grounds needs advice!

ORIGINAL POST
Posted by gibong 18 yrs ago
I am a Computer Engineer and working as Marketing Manager when I applied for a position as Technical Support to a retail IT shop. During the interview, I was informed that they are in need of someone to handle their expanding Western clientele and not to worry about Chinese clients (I don't speak Cantonese). Based on my CV and the interview, I was offered the job, asked to resign on my current post and report immediately. The owner promised to give my contract by the time I report to him. So I quit my job knowing that all terms have been agreed and discussed. I was so happy that I could pursue my career as a Computer Engineer.

On my first day, I asked the manager if he prepared my contract, he said that he will give it to me the following day. Well, I have never received it so I just decided to wait.

I was deployed to several western clients for computer troubleshooting and installation and I am confident that I'm doin well with my job. I even received a lot of compliments for a job well done. While im at the shop, i also made a couple of decent sales. I have asked the owner how was I doing and he said that "everything is okay".

On my 7th day, the manager was in hurry to go to China, and I never thought that on that day, I will be terminated on my job without any valid reason. He just left a cheque amounting to 1 week of my service, and he asked my co-employee to tell me that I'm fired. I was shock and deeply hurt. I didnt take the cheque.

I have called the owner and asked what went wrong and what are his grounds for terminating me? He said that I am good and there is no problem with my performance but he is terminating me because he thinks that after few months, I will just resign.