HK Dollar Peg Will Be Dropped Soon

Search  
ORIGINAL POST
Posted by Sara Silvester 16 yrs ago
That sounds scarry. What will happen if it is really depeg? Most of my family income now is in HKD? Any suggestion?

Please support our advertisers:
COMMENTS
Digital Blonde 16 yrs ago
I am an economist, and I can tell you in my humble opinion, that depegging is not going to happen any time soon.

Actually a surprising amount of economies (primarily in the mid east) have chosen to keep their peg to the US for the moment. The only real notable exceptions are Kuwait and China, this despite inflation running plus 10% in those economies. The new common currency for the GCC looks like it too will peg to the US dollar, though there is still some debate because of course the dollar keeps dropping. The primary reason for keeping the peg is political rather than economic, The Monetary authority seem to be committed to it and even major currency speculators like George Soros seem to take the same view and he bet heavily against the peg in 98 and got burned.

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601080&sid=aM2JR0X3jaqM&refer=asia

HKMA Commitment

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=newsarchive&sid=awGzqjDP2EC4

Soros View

It is possible that the peg to the US dollar will be dropped but I reiterate my view that it will not happen any time soon, and even when it does, it will be re pegged to a basket of currencies as other small and even sometimes large economies have done.

For a very long time my friend, they withstood currency speculators in 1998 and pumped over 100 Billion US dollars into the equity market on a single day just to prevent devaluation back then, I think the government has the wherewithal to continue its pegged exchange rate for quite a while and its not like our policy makers are democratically elected either, so they wont be worrying about re-election.

leghk 16 yrs ago