Jobs Search

< Back

Job Description

We are an American family of three (sir is American-born Chinese and ma’am is American Korean) living in Hong Kong for 11+ years. Our current helper has been with us the past four years but must go home after finishing her contract due to family obligations. We are looking for live-in helper with at least 6-10 years of experience, who is trustworthy and possibly who has long term work contracts and who knows how to look after primary school-aged children to start July 2020. We have one 7 yr old happy, joyful and caring daughter. We speak English and Cantonese (some Mandarin) at home. No pets.

Our next helper MUST: ENJOY organizing and cleaning, LOVES cooking/preparing meals, ENJOYS helping girl get ready for school (P1) and on the odd occasion put her to bed, quick learner, easily ask questions for clarification. Other household duties will be: grocery shopping, laundry, ironing, receiving deliveries, watering plants and washing car with ma'am and girl.

Personality we are looking for in a helper: Easygoing, proud of work, grateful, kind heart, and open-minded attitude. Wanting and open to learn new cooking techniques/styles. Comfortable with sir teaching you cooking techniques. Good communication skills. Comfortable with having sir working from home and being full-time dad. 

Ma’am has full time job and sir works from home. He will drop off and pick up daughter to and from school and is very active/involved in child care. Parents will help child with homework. Parents will do most of child care; however new helper MUST love organizing, cleaning and cooking. We are happy to teach and help you succeed.

Required: referral letter from previous employer with mobile number and email address on first interview. Interested in finished contract or break contract due to employer relocation/ financial difficulties ONLY. Please only contact us if meet ALL the requirements above. Bring along your reference from your last employer.

Salary: Negotiable + annual performance + Xmas bonus. Yearly home trip paid by us with paid vacation.

Start date: July/Aug 2020.

Full day off: Saturday or Sunday, we're flexible. You will have your own bedroom with air-con, storage area, part of closet and desk. Share bathroom with daughter.

General Information

Salary HKD Per Month 5000
Day Off Flexible, Sunday, Saturday
Living Arrangement Private room
Residence Size 850 sq ft
Number of children to be cared for 1
Ages of children to be cared for Primary (6 - 11 years)
Languages Cantonese, English, Manadarin
General Household Experience Required Air-con filters cleaning, Carpet cleaning, Cleaning floors, Closet cleaning & organizing, Curtains cleaning, Dusting, Furniture cleaning, Furniture polishing, General living and dining areas tidying and organizing, Grocery expenses book-keeping, Grocery shopping, Ironing, Laundry, Running errands, Vacuuming, Watering plants, Window Cleaning (Must be with Grills)
Cooking Skills Required Chinese, Western
Nationality Filipino, Indonesian, Nepalese, Thai
Currently Located In Hong Kong
Minimum Age 30
Religion Any
Maximum Age 44
Minimum Years of Experience 6
Gender Female
Reasons for Leaving Current Job Finished Contract, Employer Deceased, Employer Relocation, Financial Reasons
Minimum Education Secondary
Courses and Certificates Care Giving Course, Cooking/Baking Lessons, First Aid/CPR